The Kindness of Strangers (Digital Only)

The Kindness of Strangers (Digital Only)

The Kindness of Strangers (Digital Only)

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Andrew Lockington

UPC: 888072159617
Release Date: 2/14/2020



Directed by Lone Scherfig, the film centers on six strangers' lives that intersect in a modern tale of ordinary people struggling to find help, hope and love in New York City. As the unlikely group comes together, they discover that liberation and triumph lie in each other's hands. The Kindness of Strangers stars an ensemble cast including Zoe Kazan, Andrea Riseborough, Caleb Landry Jones, Tahar Rahim, Jay Baruchel and Golden Globe–winner Bill Nighy.  The 20-track album consists of captivating and breathtaking melodies by composer Andrew Lockington. 

“I've been a fan of Lone Scherfig for many years. It was a pleasure to work with such a wise and introspective storyteller and someone who sees music as its own voice in the story. Perhaps influenced by the Dogma movement, the score evolved out of the music moments introduced visually in the film—a classical orchestra, a piano, a balalaika, a student orchestra. In every case, each of those instruments onscreen are playing music I wrote for the film, marrying those melodies to the character's stories. Piano, solo cello and orchestra, recorded at Air Studios in London, comprise the majority of the score. The cello has always resonated with me as a distinctly human sound—some say this is in part because the range and resonance of the instrument most closely resembles that of the human voice.” – Andrew Lockington, composer



  1. Morning
  2. Manhattan
  3. Parlor
  4. Wonder
  5. Lost Him
  6. La Symphonie Résolut
  7. Refuge
  8. They Close Their Eyes
  9. Winter
  10. Ice Fountain
  11. Solace
  12. Shelter
  13. Chambers
  14. Kindred
  15. Beautiful Boy
  16. Spring
  17. Palace Dinner
  18. Returning Home
  19. Embrace
  20. The Gift