Steve Conte & The Crazy Truth

Steve Conte & The Crazy Truth

Steve Conte & The Crazy Truth

Steve Conte

UPC: 30206698725
Release Date: 10/20/2009

$ 12.98 was


Steve Conte is lead guitarist/songwriter/backing singer in the New York Dolls. He is also the lead singer/songwriter/guitarist of the bands Crown Jewels and The Contes, both along with his brother John Conte.

Sonically, The Crazy Truth lies somewhere between garage rock and punky blues with hints of Latin-soul played in a dark, smoky lounge. Stooges & Stones meet Morphine & Waits. Classic roots with modern twists. It’s the kind of rock & roll that swings. Steve Conte brings the power, soul and raunch; a guitar hero on the edge of falling apart – with the voice of a derelict angel. Drummer Phil Stewart is equal parts Max Roach and Keith Moon while bassist Leeko was weaned on The Clash and old school reggae.

Special guests include David Johansen (New York Dolls) on harmonica, Catherine Russell (David Bowie) & Nicki Richards (Madonna) on backing vocals and Danny Ray (Sylvain Sylvain/Johnny Thunders), Kiku Collins (Beyonce) Tom Timko (Stevie Wonder) on horns The album was mixed by the legendary Niko Bolas (Neil Young, Keith Richards) and mastered by Richard Dodd (Tom Petty/Green Day).


1. This Is The End (2:53)
2. Gypsy Cab (3:13)
3. Texas T (3:36)
4. The Goods Are Odd (2:59)
5. Get Off (2:48)
6. The Truth Ain’t Pretty (3:46)
7. Her Highness (2:56)
8. Busload Of Hope (3:52)
9. Strumpet-hearted Monkey Girl (2:03)
10. Indie Girl (4:25)
11. Junk Planet (3:54)