Roots: The Saga Of An American Family (Vinyl)

Roots: The Saga Of An American Family (Vinyl)

Music From And Inspired By The David L. Wolper Production Of "Roots"
Quincy Jones

UPC: 030206742510
Release Date: 11/04/2016

Limited edition of 1000 copies

$ 21.98 was


Roots - (Vinyl)

Music by Quincy Jones

Limited to 1000 copies!


With an all new Roots mini-series for 2016 on A&E, Lifetime and The History Channel, comes this timely re-release of the original soundtrack to the ground-breaking 1977 mini-series. Highlights include the "Roots Mural Theme," composed by Gerald Fried, and the 28 minute, “Roots Suite,” with Letta Mbulu as the featured vocalist. Also included are snippets of dialogue from Roots actor Lou Gossett. Featured players include: Shelly Manne, Victor Feldman, Ernie Watts and Lee Ritenour. First time on vinyl in over 30 years!






1. Motherland (:29)
2. Roots Mural Theme Performed by The Quincy Jones Orchestra (2:11)
3. Main Title: Mama Aifambeni (Premiere Episode) (:59)
4. Behold, The Only Thing Greater Than Yourself (Birth) (1:30) 
5. Oluwa (Many Rains Ago): (African Theme, African Version) (2:28)
6. Boyhood To Manhood (African Manhood Training) (:54)
7. The Toubob Is Here! (The Capture) (1:01)
8. Middle Passage (Slaveship Crossing) (1:14)
9. You in Americuh' Now, African (:33)



1. Roots Mural Theme Intro * (:15)
2. Ole Fiddler (1:12)
3. Jumpin' De Broom (:42)
4. What Shall I Do? (2:17)
5. Roots Mural Theme Bridge* (1:25)
6. Oh Lord, Come By Here (3:36)
7. Free At Last? (2:24)
8. (Many Rains Ago) Oluwa (African Theme/English Version) (4:53)