Roots: The Saga Of An American Family

Roots: The Saga Of An American Family

Roots: The Saga Of An American Family

Original Television Soundtrack
Quincy Jones

Release Date:07/1/2016

$ 13.98 was


With an all new Roots mini-series for 2016 on A&E, Lifetime and The History Channel, comes this timely re-release of the original soundtrack to the ground-breaking 1977 mini-series. Highlights include the "Roots Mural Theme," composed by Gerald Fried, and the 28 minute, “Roots Suite,” with Letta Mbulu as the featured vocalist. Also included are snippets of dialogue from Roots actor Lou Gossett. Featured players include: Shelly Manne, Victor Feldman, Ernie Watts and Lee Ritenour.


1. Motherland (:29)
2. Roots Mural Theme Performed by The Quincy Jones Orchestra (2:11)
3. Main Title: Mama Aifambeni (Premiere Episode) (:59)
4. Behold, The Only Thing Greater Than Yourself (Birth) (1:30) 
5. Oluwa (Many Rains Ago): (African Theme, African Version) (2:28)
6. Boyhood To Manhood (African Manhood Training) (:54)
7. The Toubob Is Here! (The Capture) (1:01)
8. Middle Passage (Slaveship Crossing) (1:14)
9. You in Americuh' Now, African (:33)
10. Roots Mural Theme Intro (Slave Auction) (:15) 
11. Ole Fiddler (1:11)
12. Jumpin' De Broom Ceremony (Marriage Ceremony) (:42)
13. What Shall I Do? (Hush, Hush, Somebody's Calling My Name) (2:16)
14. Roots Mural Theme Bridge (Plantation Life) (1:00)
15. Oh Lord, Come By Here (3:36)
16. Free at Last? (The Civil War) (2:23)
17. (Many Rains Ago) Oluwa (African Theme/English Version) (4:53)