Dixie Cups: Complete Red Bird Recordings

Dixie Cups: Complete Red Bird Recordings

Dixie Cups: Complete Red Bird Recordings

Dixie Cups, The

UPC: 30206637526
Release Date: 08/13/2002

$ 13.98 was


Of all the winsome girl groups populating the ‘60s rock and roll landscape, only one incorporated a breezy New Orleans influence into their harmonies. Maybe that figures into why The Dixie Cups scored several unforgettable hits for producers/writers Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller’s Red Bird Records (the label credited for the “girl group sound”). Great material was another reason. The young trio paced the pop charts in 1964 with their immortal “Chapel Of Love,” (which was the work of Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich, and Phil Spector, who had previously penned The Crystals’ “Da Doo Ron Ron” and The Ronettes’ “Be My Baby”) briefly staving off the British Invasion’s first wave. “People Say” and the sassy Mardi Gras, street chant “Iko Iko” were potent encores for the Dixie Cups.


1. Chapel Of Love (2:48)
2. Gee The Moon Is Shining Bright (2:21)
3. I'm Gonna Get You Yet (2:41)
4. Girls Can Tell (2:50)
5. All Grown Up (2:18)
6. Iko Iko (2:07)
7. Gee Baby Gee (2:45)
8. Ain't That Nice (2:19)
9. People Say (2:25)
10. Little Bell (2:46)
11. No True Love (2:36)
12. You Should Have Seen The Way He Looked At Me (2:31)
13. Another Boy Like Mine (2:54)
14. Thank You Mama, Thank You Papa (2:40)
15. Wrong Direction (2:00)
16. Gee The Moon Is Shining Bright (mono single version) (2:18)
17. People Say (alternate version) (2:42)
18. Iko Iko (acapella alternate version) (2:11)